



Joint Press Release November 06, 2021

Rwanda to host the Birmingham 2022 Queen's Baton Relay

Rwanda will host the Birmingham 2022 Queen's Baton Relay from the 9th to the 12th of November 2021 to celebrate and connect communities from across the Commonwealth and it will be the tenth destination after Uganda.

This Relay is being held around the world prior to the beginning of the Commonwealth Games that will take place in Birmingham 2022 and since its inaugural appearance at the Cardiff 1958 Commonwealth Games, the Queen's Baton Relay has been a tradition.

For its third time in Rwanda since 2014, the Queen's Baton will tour the Kigali Genocide Memorial and Campaign against Genocide Museum, Nyandungu Urban Wetland Ecotourism Park, Lycée de Kigali, Gahanga Cricket Stadium and Kigali City. The Queen's Baton will be carried by the captains of national teams and it will be an opportunity to showcase untold stories from Batonbearers, athletes, and young people who are striving for change in their community.

"I am absolutely delighted to see the Queen's Baton in Rwanda ahead of the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games next year. The unity that this relay represents brings together communities across the globe. Inclusion is at the heart of these Games, as Birmingham 2022 will have the biggest ever sports programme, with the largest integrated Para Sport programme in history. The Relay underlines our shared Commonwealth values ahead of Rwanda hosting CHOGM in 2022, and to highlight the importance of the environment as the COP26 meetings are happening in Glasgow. H. E. Omar Daair, British High Commissioner to Rwanda.

The Birmingham 2022 Queen's Baton Relay started at Buckingham Palace on 7 October 2021, when Her Majesty The Queen placed Her Message to the Commonwealth into the Baton, which will be read at the Opening Ceremony of the Commonwealth Games on July 28th 2022 in Birmingham, and passed it to four-time Paralympic gold medallist and Team England athlete Kadeena Cox, who had the honour of being the first of thousands of Batonbearers to carry the Baton.

"We are delighted and honoured to receive the Queen's Baton for the third time in Rwanda. Receiving the Queen's Baton during this period of the Covid-19 pandemic has a significant meaning as it symbolises hope, solidarity, and collaboration across our Commonwealth countries. It is also another opportunity to encourage our athletes who will compete to be the ambassadors of peace, unity, sustainable development and environment protection in their communities." Theogene UWAYO, President of Rwanda Commonwealth Games Association.

The 16th official Queen's Baton Relay is an epic journey covering the entirety of the Commonwealth as it will travel to all 72 nations and territories, covering a distance of 140,000 kilometres. For 269 days, the Baton will travel to Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania, the Caribbean and the Americas, before it embarks on the final stretch of its journey across England for 25 days.















End

For more details contact us via emails below: Rwanda CGA: <u>mujacques92@olympicrwanda.org</u>. British High Commission: <u>annabelle.uwera@fco.gov.uk</u>

Find out more at www.birmingham2022.com/qbr

Full schedule of the Queen's Baton Relay international route:

Nation / Territory		Live date
1.	Cyprus	9 October 2021
2.	Malta	12 October 2021
3.	Nigeria	16 October 2021
4.	The Gambia	20 October 2021
5.	Sierra Leone	23 October 2021
6.	Ghana	26 October 2021
7.	Cameroon	29 October 2021
8.	Kenya	2 November 2021
9.	Uganda	5 November 2021
10.	Rwanda	09 November 2021
11.	Tanzania	13 November 2021
12.	Malawi	17 November 2021
13.	Zambia	20 November 2021
14.	Mozambique	23 November 2021
15.	Mauritius	27 November 2021
16.	Botswana	30 November 2021
17.	St. Helena	5 December 2021
18.	South Africa	8 December 2021
19.	Namibia	14 December 2021
20.	Eswatini	17 December 2021
21.	Lesotho	20 December 2021
22.	Seychelles	23 December 2021
23.	Pakistan	27 December 2021
24.	Maldives	1 January 2022
25.	Sri Lanka	4 January 2022
26.	Bangladesh	7 January 2022
27.	India	12 January 2022
28.	Singapore	17 January 2022
29.	Malaysia	22 January 2022
30.	Brunei	26 January 2022
31.	Papua New Guinea	30 January 2022
32.	Solomon Islands	2 February 2022
33.	Nauru	5 February 2022















34.	Fiji	13 February 2022
35.	Samoa	16 February 2022
36.	Tonga	19 February 2022
37.	Vanuatu	22 February 2022
38.	Kiribati	25 February 2022
39.	Tuvalu	28 February 2022
40.	Niue	3 March 2022
41.	Cook Islands	6 March 2022
42.	Norfolk Island	9 March 2022
43.	New Zealand	12 March 2022
44.	Australia	17 March 2022
45.	Belize	23 March 2022
46.	Guyana	26 March 2022
47.	Grenada	30 March 2022
48.	The Bahamas	3 April 2022
49.	Turks & Caicos	7 April 2022
50.	Cayman Islands	12 April 2022
51.	Jamaica	15 April 2022
52.	Trinidad & Tobago	19 April 2022
53.	Barbados	23 April 2022
54.	Montserrat	26 April 2022
55.	Dominica	29 April 2022
56.	British Virgin Islands	3 May 2022
57.	St. Kitts & Nevis	6 May 2022
58.	Anguilla	9 May 2022
59.	Antigua & Barbuda	13 May 2022
60.	St. Lucia	16 May 2022
61.	St. Vincent & The Grenadines	19 May 2022
62.	Bermuda	22 May 2022
63.	Canada	26 May 2022
64.	Gibraltar	31 May 2022
65.	Falkland Islands	7 June 2022
66.	Jersey	10 June 2022
67.	Guernsey	13 June 2022
68.	Isle of Man	16 June 2022
69.	Scotland	18 June 2022
70.	Northern Ireland	24 June 2022
71.	Wales	29 June 2022
72.	England	4 July 2022
		· · · · · ·









